Twohp Goes All for One

Finally, almost a week into the new preseason, I finally played my first All for One games in League of Legends. Overall, I see some strong merits in the mode, but I also see some changes that could be made to make the game better.

Let’s start in champ select. Just like Summoners Rift you get three bans. After that, your team votes on which champion you would like to play. Outside of Teemo, Karthas and the champs you banned, everyone is fair game. Democracy is a great thing, especially when you are in the majority, and All for One Mode really emphasizes that.

If you are queuing with two or more friends then you will easily be able to play whatever you want in each game. If you are by yourself or with one other person then there is a great chance you will be playing what others want for most of the night.

Don’t worry though. Even if you are a group of three it’s not all clear sailing. In pretty much all of my games at least one person called us names for refusing to pick the champs they wanted to play. I feel like this kind of abuse is even worse in All for One because it is a little bit more of a pointless game mode if you can’t get the champ you want. Trolling, dodging and verbal abuse all seem to be common in All for One. This is kind of to be expected. For some reason the non serious game modes seem to attract just as many angry people, and even more trolls, than ranked games.

Once your champ has been voted on, and you have had 60 seconds to tinker with your Runes and Masteries, you are launched into the loading screen. Just like in Blind Pick games, the loading screen is the first time you will catch a glimpse of your opponents.

It is at this moment when you realize that your all Lux team is probably going to have some serious problems against an all Volibear composition. Yes you can snare them, but I promise you, those damn bears will keep coming back for more.

I understand that going in blind is probably the only way to ensure that one team isn’t always hard countering the other. The only annoying thing is that when you do find yourself hard countered you are stuck in that situation for at least 30 minutes.

Oh yes, unless you have managed to pick five champs that push hard or kill easily, most All for One games can take a long time. Five Volibears can rip apart a Lux, but they tend to be slow pushers until the late game.

The game play itself is the real beauty of this mode. We all know a lot about how certain champions work well together, but seeing how five of the same champion work together is new and exciting. Watching five Lux lazers cut across the map at the same time is enough to make you pause a second and just bask in that moment. Then, right after, you have five Volibears rush at you. This is also cool but kind of scary and fairly annoying.

My point is that there are a lot of cool things that happen when you get five of the same champion on a map together. I firmly believe that this game mode will keep sucking me back in until I have tried out a good number of the champs that I think would be fun to have five of.

I don’t like to complain about game types such as this without trying to think of a few ways to make them better. All for One will be no exception. In champ select, regardless of how many people you queue with, I think the champion picked should not be voted on. I think it should be entirely random or you should be presented with a random choice of several champions to choose from.

This would make it easier to play this game mode without having a pre made group, and it would hopefully cut back on a bit of the whining for people upset over their champion not getting picked. If you want to be able to vote on your champ perhaps that could be available in custom games.

The other, admittedly much more vague, change I would like to see would be shorter games. Silly modes like All for One tend to promote trolling, dodging, raging etc. If I am trying to play for fun and I end up stuck with a bunch of trolls then I want to be able to leave that situation as soon as possible.

One way to do this could be to play All for One on a smaller map, such as the Twisted Treeline. I believe the Howling Abyss is a bit too small, but having three lanes and fulls sets of towers to go through is just a bit too much. Fast games are the key to other non competitive modes, and there is a reason for that. All for One should be the same.

I have to say that I simply do not see myself playing a lot of All for One. Even if they made the changes I am looking for it took me a long time to even like ARAMs, and the only reason I like those is that they are short and sweet. Twisted Treeline and Summoner’s Rift will always be my true loves, and they will get most of my attention.

But get me with a group of friends, put a few drinks in me and suddenly All for One will likely be the game mode of choice. It is entertaining, it is fun but it’s just a bit too long and a bit too silly if I’m not already feeling a bit silly myself.

What do you guys think of the new game mode? Any champions you would recommend trying or changes you would bring in to make the game mode better? How many drinks does it usually take you to really get into the All for One spirit? I would love to hear your thoughts. Oh and for those of you who made it this far…I wouldn’t be me without finding a way to bring Thresh into things. Enjoy.

6 thoughts on “Twohp Goes All for One

  1. I have suggested your blog to a young teen who is starting to get into the League of Legends. He can sign on via
    Facebook I think to WordPress. I don’t play but I enjoy your write-ups and descriptions and visuals. Thank you for all of your hard work and enjoyment in this!

    • I don’t know what to say other then that I am extremely flattered that you would recommend me. I always feel like I learn so much from reading your blog on top of just really enjoying your posts, so it means a lot to me that you would do that. If he ever has any questions about the game feel free to let me know or have him post a comment somewhere.

  2. I’ve only played one match of All for One and I have to say it was certainly enjoyable for its novelty. I have to agree that a truly random champ select would be the way to go, and shortening the game is a good idea as well. There are definitely challenges with having same champ. Who was that that pinged for help? Normally I know by champ name, as summoner name is harder to decipher quickly in game, but wow, it’s all the same champ! We had all Jarvans against a team of Rivens and we definitely mowed them down, but there are so many individual champ matchups where it is a done deal from the start that I wonder at the game mode’s viability long term. Amusing and fun but it hasn’t drawn me back yet.

    • I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one! I’m guessing we’ll find ourselves back on it at least once or twice over the holiday for a bit of random fun, but like you said, it doesn’t really feel like an every day game mode to me. Makes you wonder if they’ll actually tweek it considering they just released the new 2v2 and 1v1 and haven’t changed Twisted Treeline in forever.

Leave a Reply

