Dear Vayne (and other ADC’s)

Dear Vayne,

I want to say that it was fun playing with you, I really do. Sure things were kind of rough, but it wasn’t going great for our team as a whole and I was willing to just write the game off and move on. Then you had to go and repeatedly state in all chat, team chat, and the after game chat that my Janna was awful and useless. So now I feel like I have to say a few things to you.

Firstly, I wish you better understood the champ you were playing and the match up we were fighting against. We were a Janna Vayne fighting against a Draven Xin Zhao. Yes, in retrospect, picking Janna was not the best thing for that lane, but I had my reasons for doing it. The other team had an Udyr, a Xin and a Maokai, three champions who want to get on our team and stick to us. In late game team fights our survival would depend on our ability to get those champs off of you, Vayne. I was hoping that a Janna would keep your late game Vayne alive and get us the victory.

But you are a Vayne player, and I forgot that you don’t always think about late game, you think about getting kills. I have always loved this about some Vayne players. You have one of the best late game champs in League of Legends, and despite that, all  most of you seem to worry about are early game kills. Perhaps you have never seen Doublelift play Vayne, but I feel like you probably have because his late game heroics inspire a lot of people to play Vayne. Regardless, the beauty of what pros do with Vayne is that they don’t worry about early game kills. They know Vayne isn’t really an early game champion. If you farm her up well, which the pros do, and manage to stay alive then you will become a late game power house that few can deal with.

But Vayne, that wasn’t your game. You farmed…not well considering we were able to exist in a position where you could farm fairly safely, but you were itching to pick a fight and I didn’t deliver you any. So you got frustrated and called me names. But Vayne, I also am not sure you were keeping our opponents in mind. A Janna Vayne is not going to be able to do much against a Draven Xin combo, especially in the early game. Draven alone probably has enough damage to kill both of us and Xin just helps makes his job that much easier. Truth be told, I didn’t really want to fight them. I wanted to keep you alive, get you farmed and let you go to town on them in the late game where it would be you doing the two shotting and Xin, without farm, would be much more useless. We got you into a situation where you could farm, and I thought that was enough. I guess I was wrong, I guess I was useless.

And I am sorry, Vayne, because I clearly forgot that this is solo que. I forgot that games are often decided in the laning phase and people are only happy when they have a ton of kills. I was thinking of the late game and you were concerned with the early game, and the early game didn’t go so great. I forgot that support champs like Janna and Soraka are great at keeping their TEAMs alive, but solo que isn’t really a team game, not the way that most people approach it.

When everything is said and done, Vayne, I still don’t really think I deserved what you said to me. I was mad at the time, but that’s ok because it inspired me to write this. I always hate it when people call other people trash, regardless of their performance. No one goes into a LoL match with the intention of not playing well (some do but those people are a whole other story), and I really don’t see what you gain by calling them on their bad game.

In the case of our game, it bugs me even more because you clearly had given no thought to either our team’s late game or your own champion’s late game. I guess I just wish that more ADC’s would remember that it’s a team game, that you can’t always be focused on getting the kill and that sometimes you win your lane by just staying alive and getting farmed. I know not all ADC’s are like this, but Vayne, you are a perfect example of the ADC’s I hate to work with.

I wrote this letter specifically to you, Vayne, but it really sums up my feelings on a lot of players in LoL. Yes, getting kills is fantastic. You get gold, you get XP and you feel like you’re just awesome. Of course the flip side is that sometimes you will not get kills. When that happens I wish you would take a second, calm down, focus on living and focus on farming. You may think the game is over but there’s a good chance it really isn’t. That’s the beauty of solo que. If you keep a game going there really is a chance that anything can happen, especially when you have a solid late game champion like Vayne.

Oh, and here’s one last thought. Instead of calling others names and blaming them for your own lack of results how about you actually take the time to figure out what you need to do to help get the win. You may not realize this but it looks pretty darn lazy when all you are capable of doing is harassing others and not actually making the changes needed to win the game. You can still win a game with a crummy KDA, I promise. It just might require you to build different items, be less aggressive etc.

Actually, you know what, I hope you keep harassing people and don’t change your game because I want to see you keep losing games while the rest of us actually learn from our mistakes and head onwards towards success. That’s what good players do, Vayne, and you, and the others like you, are not good players.

3 thoughts on “Dear Vayne (and other ADC’s)

Leave a Reply

