Welcome to the Leauge of Cleavers

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

I know I have talked about this a little bit before, but I just wanted to take a quick second to say again how amazingly overpowered the new Black Cleaver is. I was playing some ranked threes with friends today, and the games basically came down to who had more Black Cleavers. I know this sounds crazy, but having two or three Black Cleavers on your character is not unheard of.

The current Black Cleaver (BC) has done several interesting things to the current meta. It has made armor useless (you buy a BC or health instead), it has made AD mids very popular (as they are actually able to outburst their AP counterparts), and it has made pure tanks basically obsolete. Why is the BC so powerful? It provides you with health, armor pen, cool down reduction and an armor shred that is triggered not only by your auto attacks but by any physical damage dealing ability. On top of all of that, the armor shred and pen are not unique, so you can stack the heck out of them.

I apologize for gushing about this change. I think I am just a little bit excited because this patch was the first major item overhaul in LoL that I have actually been part of. I have never seen one item dominate the game so much that it actually changed the strategic meta, not just how certain champions build. On the other hand, I don’t want to say too much because I am sure it won’t last.

If you want to get in on the BC madness, make sure you do it before the next patch, and if you are playing anything that doesn’t build a BC, make sure you buy lots of health. Riot has indicated that a patch will be coming soon that will make the armor penetration on the BC unique, and will be dropping the numbers down to 10 armor pen and 6.25% armor reduction per stack.

Personally, I have no problem with this and can’t wait for them to reign in the BC. I don’t think that there should be any single item in LoL that is so powerful that it becomes a must have for basically every champion. Let me know what you think of the new Black Cleaver, how you feel about its current power and the upcoming nerf, and let me know the most BC’s you’ve built on a champion at one time . I think my current record is only 2, but my three’s team managed to have 6 BC’s between all of us.

Too many you say? Let’s face it, until the next patch  your team is going to need more cleavers than a butcher’s shop if you actually want to win!

 

Leave a Reply

